Apply Now!
GIVE TO VUU | INTERNATIONAL | CAMPUS POLICE | QUICK LINKS
Library

Library Administration


Greetings and welcome to the L. Douglas Wilder Library and Learning Resource Center.
The Office of Library Administration handles all administrative and business affairs for the library faculty and staff.

We are proud of our history as one of the nation's older historically black colleges (HBCUs), founded in 1865. Our library was formerly the William J. Clark Library located in the historic landmark Belgian Friendship Building given to the University by the government of Belgium in 1941.
In 1997 we relocated to a new facility on campus named after Virginia Union's most celebrated alumnus: L. Douglas Wilder, humanitarian, civil rights leader and the first elected African-American governor (1990-1994) in the nation. The library houses the The Wilder Collection which is a very popular national and international attraction. The library faculty and staff are eager to help you find and evaluate the information sources you need.

We hope you find our web pages helpful and will visit us on the campus of Virginia Union University.

* Administrative Office Hours are 9:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday.
* Call or visit the office for library tour information or to schedule bibliographic instruction classes.
* The telephone number is (804) 257-5820. Mrs. Lenora Miller will be happy to assist you.

Library Faculty & Staff

Selicia Allen, Special Collections Librarian / University Archivist              (804) 278-4117          sngregory@vuu.edu      
Pamela Foreman, Public Services Librarian (804) 278-4119 pforeman@vuu.edu
Kay Darling, Acquisitions Librarian (804) 257-5723 svdarling@vuu.edu
Tracey Hunter-Hayes, Library Director (804) 257-5821
Shadia Lawson, Serials Services Library Assistant (804) 278-4121 sllawson@vuu.edu
Shanda Lemon, Electronic Resources Librarian (804) 278-4120 slemon@vuu.edu
Sara Marrin, Technical Services Librarian (804) 257-5823 semarrin@vuu.edu
Lenora Miller, Administrative Assistant (804) 257-5820 lmiller@vuu.edu
Chrita S. Person, Cataloging Assistant (804) 278-4116 csperson@vuu.edu
Gary Tyler, Circulation Library Assistant (804) 257-5690 gatyler@vuu.edu
Mary Walker, Technical Services Library Assistant (804) 278-4115 mcwalker@vuu.edu
Adam Zimmerli, Special Collections Public Services Librarian (804) 278-4112 azimmerli@vuu.edu